Outstanding School Business Official

GASBO Outstanding School Business Officials Award

Each year the Georgia Association of School Business Officials will recognize an outstanding GASBO member who exemplified professionalism, leadership and innovation in the field of school business management. The current GASBO President establishes a committee to review nominees objectively and select this outstanding GASBO member. The committee will consist of the current GASBO President, First Vice President and Immediate Past President.

An Active Member of GASBO may submit nominations for the Outstanding School Business Official to the committee by completing the Nominee Application. The application, as well as information regarding the application, can be found here.

Previous winners are as follows:

  • 2018 Kenneth Overman, Assistant Superintendent for Finance and Operations, Lowndes County Schools;
  • 2017 Jeff Allie, Assistant Superintendent for Financial Services, Henry County Schools;
  • 2016 Larry Hammel, Chief Financial Officer, Clarke County Schools;
  • 2015 Rick Cost, Chief Financial Officer, Gwinnett County Public Schools;
  • 2014 Candler Howell, Assistant Superintendent for Financial Management, Cherokee County Schools;
  • 2013 Betty Varnadore, Finance Director, Jackson County Schools;
  • 2012 Nonie Cobb, Board Office Manager, Ben Hill County Schools;
  • 2011 Gail Farriba, Finance Director, Gordon County Schools;
  • 2010 Gene Spires, Senior Director, Budgets, Federal Programs and Grants, Richmond County Schools;
  • no entries were received in 2009;
  • 2008 Alana Bolin, Comptroller, Colquitt County Schools;
  • 2007 Lynette Bryant, Director of Accounting, Lowndes County Schools, Valdosta;
  • 2006 Lee Lovett, Deputy Superintendent, Hall County Board of Education, Gainesville.

To view or print form, click here.